Some people claim that not enough of waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

In the last few,years recycling has gained a lot of importance in our society. Someone claim that not enough waste is recycled and the only way to make people do is doing a proper law about it. In this essay, I will discuss why I think that a juridical act is not required. Firstly, we have to remember that pollution is one of the biggest problems of our society, but we have to deal with the constitution too that provides a catalogue of rights that must be guaranteed by the government; one of them is freedom so we can not force someone to do something without a sentence coming from a judge; so it will be illegal, according to article number 12 of the Italian constitution. Furthermore, we are not prepared to convert the trash into new materials. In fact, especially in Italy, there are not enough firms ready to recycle everyone's garbage; someone would say that they can possibly be built but this requires a lot of time, at least two or three years, and a lot of money that will be paid by citizens with other taxes. In fact, if people have to pay extra to recycle their waste, they would probably throw it away in wild areas or burn it down illegally, as we have experienced in some cities in the southern part of Italy. To summarise, I do not agree at all with the idea of making a law about recycling. In fact, in my opinion, this will, not only break fundamental rights provided by the constitution but also make people pay more taxes, because we still have no infrastructure ready to convert the trash into new materials. A solution should be, making pay people the amount of waste they produce if they don't want to recycle it.