Should wealthy nations be required to share their wealth among poorer nations by providing such things as food and education? Or is it the responsibility of the governments of poorer nations to look after their citizens themselves? Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and with relevant evidence. You should write at least 254 words.

The governing body of every country has a responsibility towards its citizens. I believe countries should work towards being self-sufficient and independent. The rich nations can definitely help the needy ones during bad times. In my opinion, countries that are wealthy should use their money for their own growth and development. They should not be dependent on just a single source of income but, should continuously work on generating multiple sources of income. For example, middle eastern countries that have huge oil resources should also consider creating new ways of earning revenue such as investment in developing tourism. Besides, money can also be used in the health sector to invent vaccines that can make them disease-free as well as on the education sector to produce responsible citizens. Also, it is good to extend help to the poor states during the bad times. In my view, on the other hand, poor nations should be accountable for looking after its citizen by being self-sustainable. They cannot rely on others all the time instead, they should figure out ways of generating income to support their own needs. They should work on the agriculture department as a result of which, they will not have to depend on others for food. For instance, Bangladesh was extremely poor however, women empowerment by giving them loans to set up small-scale businesses, helped in eradicating poverty. To conclude, all countries should stand by each other during the bad times and help the needy but, being self-sufficient is extremely essential. In addition, it would be great if a nation has the capacity to produce as well as consume products so that it will not have to ask for assistance.