In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the houses or building they live in. What is the reason for this? How can people research on this?

Nowadays, a higher number of people are finding it more interesting to know about their houses´ background. This essay will explore possible reasons behind it and the way people can investigate their history. Considering firstly the reasons why people like to find the houses´ past, I believe that it could be due to curiosity about the space they are about to buy and, also, for pecuniary reasons. In the first instance, the housing market is, these days, going through a stage where not enough new houses are being built, so when someone wants to acquire one, it is more likely that they are going to buy an old one, which needs to be refurbished. This results in an inherent curiosity about its past and history. Similarly, when an owner wants to put their house on sale, if they previously know that, for instance, a king had lived there, this announcement makes the house more valuable. Furthermore, using the library's old history books might be the best way to explore the background of the buildings. Many times the books reveal the past of a city or village and who were their inhabitants, mentioning as well the related centuries. Additionally, actual owners can ask the previous owners, neighbours or the estate agency as they might also know the historical period of the house. Lastly, google research can equally be done, with limited accuracy as online information is not always verified, thereby, not always truthful. In conclusion, owing to the lack of new houses in the market, the majority of them are now old and ready to be refurbished, for this reason people feel the curiosity to know more about it. Moreover, for financial reasons, a house can see its asking price soaring if it is found that it had a historical past. In order to finalise their investigation, owners are advised to use official sources like the library, neighbours, previous owners or by googling.