Some people think that robots are very important for human’s future development. Others, however, think that robots are a dangerous invention that could have negative effect on society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Never have the topics concerning technology failed to attract the public’s attention. However, when it comes to whether robots are beneficial or detrimental to human society, people hold divergent views. From my perspective, I believe that even though robots can be beneficial to human future development, they will undoubtedly exert some negative repercussions on society. On the one hand, robots have greatly revolutionized people ’s lives in many aspects. To begin with, it is not rare to see a great many robots used for scientific research. Since they are equipped with a metal shell and advanced technology, they can be utilized to perform some dangerous and arduous tasks, which is conducive to ensuring the researchers’ security and promoting the research progress. A typical example is that many robots are occupied exploring the ocean trench. Also, robots are commonly used in some companies as they can enhance work efficiency to a large extent, thus generating more economic value. The efficiency of traditional labour is limited, while the introduction of robots can break through the limitation of manual labour. In factories, robots are qualified for some competitive tasks, which will not only reduce possible errors but speed up the production process. On the other hand, no matter how great convenience they have brought to people, the drawbacks of the usage of robots should not be underestimated. Humans' overreliance on robots will contribute to poor creativity, flexibility and self-motivation. As a growing number of people tend to make products with the help of robots, they will be loath to think independently and engage in making handicrafts by themselves. In that case, there will be a foreseeable decrease in humans’ originality and manual dexterity. Apart from this, robots are inclined to undermine social stability. They have taken the places of many average people who were formerly employed in basic positions, which will bring about unemployment issues. Under such circumstances, those individuals are likely to be underrated, underappreciated and underprivileged by the public, which can lead them to take revenge on the public community to express their resentment and dissatisfaction. In conclusion, the usage of robots will not merely bring some merits or demerits to society. For some aspects, it will be a blessing, but for others, it will be a nightmare.