Today our communications, medicine and transport systems all depend on computer technology. Our reliance on computer technology in these fields has created a dangerous situation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the modern era, key industries such as communication, Pharma, and transportation have become highly dependent on technologically advanced computer systems. Some argue that this dependency has created a dangerous situation around the globe. I completely agree with the statement as excessive reliance on tech can result in pretty bad situations from disrupting communications across the border to theft of medicinal reports, contributing heavy losses. Nowadays, every international airport uses software to efficiently manage flight schedules, communication records, and passenger information, and antivirus to protect them. However, due to a small issue in Crowdstrike, a prominent software giant, used by several airlines disrupted communications around the globe for two hours, creating a complete blackout and halting transport operations. Therefore, this type of small bug can lead air transportation to a complete stop, affecting thousands of air travellers. Furthermore, even biotechnological companies which use advanced equipment and programmes for medicinal research, and development, and storing confidential data have to face heavy losses. For instance, In 2019 hackers stole 10 years of research data from Pfizer, a global pharmaceutical, resulting in huge financial loss as the company has invested more than a billion dollars in research and development. Therefore, excessive use of technology can sometimes diminish years of hard work in this field, contributing to huge setbacks. To conclude, heavy reliance on computer programmes has various drawbacks which can have a deep effect on both companies and people in general.So individuals should find and use an alternative to these software programmes, to avoid any dangerous situation.