Many people join distance-learning programs (study material, post, TV, Internet) and study at home, but some people think that it cannot bring the same benefit as attending colleges or universities does. Discuss both side of view and give your opinion.

During the last few years, distance learning gained significant popularity among students and represents an option to study at home, however, some people claim that it does not replace attending university nor does it provide the same benefits. Personally, I agree that physically going to college is better than taking online courses. In this essay, we will discuss both views and further elaborate on my opinion. On the one hand, students who choose distance-learning programs are motivated by the multiple advantages this option has. Firstly, taking online classes is more convenient for some individuals since it saves both time and energy and therefore, can fit into busy schedules. For example, graduates are currently able to work full-time while also studying for a post-graduate degree. Secondly, distance learning is versatile and offers the opportunity to study in the comfort of your own home. On the other hand, attending college has many benefits as well. One of them would be the ability to experience social interactions and build friendships with others, which is always beneficial as humans are considered social creatures. For instance, when students work together, they get to know each other which results in building friendships. Moreover, attending classes facilitates the learning process as the brain and body synchronize, leading to better academic results. To summarize, I personally think that the benefits of attending university are greater than the ones online courses have because physically going to college will lead to a better learning experience and will contribute to building professional and personal relationships with fellows as well.