The best way to teach children to cooperate is through team sports at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a widespread belief that the optimum way to teach children about cooperation is by letting them engage in team sports at school. However, some critics state that team sports will negatively affect a child's life. In this essay, I will elaborate on how group activities act as a positive endorsement to develop a student's interpersonal skills. Firstly, a team consists of a mixture of society where racial identities, demographic locations and familial backgrounds are completely varied from one another. This provides an excellent opportunity for the children to get to know each other and bond amidst their differences. For instance, if the kids are exposed to different races at an early stage during their playtimes, they will be sensitized to neglect the racial disparities between their teammates and will build unity and friendships which would last for a long time. On the other hand, because of the patriarchy towards their team, the opposite teams would be despised. Furthermore, this would cause friction between the two teams resulting in fights which further widen the disparity between them. For example, a series of fights were initiated after a youth rugby competition in the USA where most participants were enraged and aggressive towards their opponent team after losing the match by one point. However, this phenomenon could have been prevented if the students were taught how to respect each other and celebrate the victories of an opponent. In conclusion, sports done in teams are an excellent way to teach kids about cooperation. However, teamwork could be creating friction between individuals which should not be neglected. Overall, despite the minor drawbacks, if team sports are encouraged at school, it will greatly benefit the child in the future.