People who are addicted to drugs should be imprisoned as they have broke the law, other say the they should be in hospitals. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some would argue that people who are drug addicts should be sent to prison because they have broken the law, while others say that they are sick and they should be taken to hospitals. Although sending them to jail will help them to think about their action, this essay will support that drug addicts must be hospitalized to rehabilitate them. On the one hand, members who abuse drugs excessively must be imprisoned in jail as it enables them to rethink their lives. Most of the people are in prison as a result of abusing Class A medications like pethidine and this gives them the opportunity to think about their lives and this is done by interacting with their fellows. Furthermore, being unable to go back at the end of the day and sleeping in a small confined place, all make them rethink what they would actually want for themselves. For example, in Uganda, around 40% of youth are put in different jails due to their bad behaviour after taking codeine, but this does not solve their problems. On the other hand, despite the above point, l believe that members who are addicted to opioids should be sent to hospitals for rehabilitation as this is the only way to cure them. In other words, they are sick because of the addiction and confining them in an area that is free from drugs and safe will not only help them get treated but it will also enable them to get back to their normal senses. For instance, research done at Makerere University shows that around 70% of drug addicts recover when taken to rehabilitation places. Therefore l agree with treating them more than sending them to jail. In conclusion, although some people say that addicts should be sent to cells as punishment after breaking the law, l think sending them to hospitals for treatment is better as it helps them to get cured. I hope in future the state will consider my view in order to save them.