In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Hard work is the key to success. To achieve anything you have to consider discipline etc other than hard work. In some cultures, children are taught that they can get anything if they work hard for it. It has some benefits and drawbacks. The benefit of delivering this message to children is that they become independent and the drawback is that they become arrogant. To begin with, the benefit that children will get is that they become İndependent. They do not rely on anyone. They do not find any loopholes because they know that they just have to work hard if they want to achieve anything. They come to know that these shortcuts will not help them in any way. For instance, my brother was always fond of shortcuts. He does not work hard. One day, my father told him that if you wanted to come first in your class you have to work hard. There are no shortcuts for coming first in the class. From that day, he started to work hard leave those shortcuts and become independent. The drawback that children face is that they become arrogant and think that they do not need anyone to help them. They do not trust anyone and in the end, they badly fail. For illustration, my friend was very hard working and he was very proud of it. He always thought that he did not need anyone. He does not treat anyone well and one day because of his arrogance he fails badly. In addition, children become irresponsible because they know what they will do and in this misconception, they fail. In conclusion, the benefit of this is that children become independent, however, it has a drawback that they become arrogant. Therefore, children should be taught things also other than hard work like discipline, down-to-earth etc