Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us all want to do the same and look the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nobody would dispute the fact that advertising plays an important role in our daily life. While some advertisements make some judgement on people's appearances and try to make everyone live like one another, in my opinion, I completely disagree with this statement. Commence with, there are several factors why advertising should not discourage people from being different. It is true to say that everyone is born to be a unique individual, and it is hard to standardise based on the subjective criteria given by the public. For example, people would simply judge a person by his appearance or behaviours. Furthermore, commercials we see sometimes might not be the fact, it has often been exaggerated on the result to attract people to purchase a particular product. For instance, skincare companies often show how effective their products can cure certain skin problems within a short period of time, especially acne skin products. It is often implemented bombastic slogans and ingredients on the product, and most of the time the testimonials shown are from stock images. In my opinion, product marketing should be more realistic and accurate. I believe an exaggerated marketing strategy could bring several setbacks to audiences. Consumers believe most of the messages they read online, if the ad they saw online was educating users to put blame on others whenever they encounter a problem, everyone in the world will be lacking self-awareness and,, eventually the economy of the country will have plummeted. Furthermore, advertisers provide the wrong or unclear messages to drive sales. Some reckless business owners do not care about their consumers and all they do is brainwash the mindset of the audience. In my opinion, online marketing is not something we should rely much about. In conclusion, although advertisements provide important information to users, however, we should learn how to decide which information is correct to consume.