In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Despite country-wide development efforts in rural areas, the movement of people from the countryside to major cities is increasing dramatically. In this essay, I will discuss both the positive and negative sides and explain why, in my view, the overall impact is negative. There are some advantages to rural migration into cities. Primarily, migrants gain better economic access because cities offer better-paying jobs. The social benefits for migrants are also clear in their improved access to amenities such as public transportation and healthcare. These increases in quality of life often persuade migrants not to return to their hometowns. This greater satisfaction also highlights the subpar performance of governments in ensuring adequate rural development. In fact, a rising number of rural-to-urban migrants should act as a bellwether for authorities, signaling the slow progress of rural areas. Conversely, there are significant economic and cultural downsides to this migration; therefore, such trends threaten the economic integrity and cultural diversity of a country. These shifts not only hinder further development in the countryside because the population decline weakens budget allocation, but they are also harmful to the preservation of rural cultural heritage. For example, if young rural people leave a town with its own dialect, that precious dialect may not be passed on to future generations through them. The belief that traditional cultures are introduced into urban areas is strongly undermined by people’s tendency to popularize modern trends rather than older traditions. In conclusion, after considering the benefits gained by a relatively small number of migrants and the overwhelming damage to the distribution of amenities, I view rural-to-urban migration negatively. An active rural scene is essential to a country’s integrity, yet it is often neglected for the marginal profit it brings to urban progress.