Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is very common for teenagers to be involved in some kind of unpaid community service during their off-term time which is either part of the school curriculum or they are advised by their elders to do so. Indeed, there are many benefits of doing community works for a teenager which will be highlighted in this essay. Undoubtedly, youth can easily fall into negative activities because of the curiosity of this age group to try new things. Therefore, it is a good idea that teenagers used most of their leisure time doing social work so that there would slim chance of them getting involved in antisocial activities. For instance, helping the elderly with household chores in the community or involving in neighbourhood cleaning activities can convert a teenager into a mature, responsible, and caring adult later in life and also keep them busy when they are not studying. Moreover, being engaged in free time means they cannot be distracted by distressed exercise, for example, trying prohibited drugs for recreational purposes at the request of fellow teenagers. Although money has so much importance in human life, some aspects of life can not be purchased through money. Unpaid community services help youngster build their experience of real life before they graduate from college which can be an asset later in their practical life. They become confident and communicative which is a required skill for a successful employee in nearly every organization in this world. Furthermore, working along with other teenagers helps them develop the team working skill that is the key to success for project completion in any job. In conclusion, it is a good idea to get teenagers involved in social services during their time off from study or gap year so that they can learn responsibility and polish their communication and team working skills which would be an advantage for their future job.