Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, there are an increasing number of children who utilize most of their time on gadgets. The main reason behind this problem is caused by their parents ' preference in handling their child. Furthermore, spending too much time on mobile phones might induce several health issues for kids, which is why I believe that this is a negative development. The main cause of such a phenomenon is due to parents allowing their child to play with mobile phones to make them feel calm. This is because videos or games inside those smartphones can entertain their kids in some circumstances. Watching baby channels on Youtube or playing Angry Birds, for instance, could distract toddlers from uncomfortable situations. Indeed, their parents can do other activities, such as doing their work assignments, without being distracted by their child. This kind of trend is a sign of a negative development. Children being exposed more into technologies rather than physical activities tend to cause several health problems. In fact, the brightness level in smartphones could damage their eyesight from such a young age. Sitting down for several hours, moreover, might lead to obesity. To illustrate, there are more kindergarten students who use eyeglasses when teachers ask them to read. Consequently, this indicates that the result of playing too many video games on phones has a negative impact on youngsters. In conclusion, parents ' allowance is the main factor that increases the growth in the population of children who enjoy spending time on such technological devices for hours. Thus, the rising number of children facing several health problems at an early age might indicate that this is a sign of a negative development.