Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is said that a large number of students decide to start their higher education a year after finishing school in order to go on a trip or acquire some work skills. In my perspective, it could be a good strategy; and consequently, have great impacts on their further education. Accordingly, to shed some light on this significant matter, through the following paragraphs, the present essay aims to elaborate on some of the aspects of this approach under scrutiny. There is a common belief that taking a gap year before starting university could be considered an inefficient usage of time, furthermore, the followers of this theory believe that it is better for students to start university immediately after graduating from school. As a matter of fact, they assume that if students start their career life after becoming university graduates, they will be more successful. Bill Gates, for example, is one of the most cheerful people in the world, who has not taken a gap year between his school and university. On the other hand, a lot of people think that one year of work experience or travel before university, helps students make better decisions about their field of study at university. Moreover, they illustrate that trying to gain a variety of work experiences could help students have a better discovery of their talents, which leads to choosing an appropriate field of study at university. Dr Chen, a university professor at Harvard who tried to work in different jobs before his university, is the best instance of this theory. He has won plenty of Noble prizes during his career life as a result of having some experiences before his higher education. Besides, recent studies demonstrate that going on a long trip before university is helpful for students to relieve their stress. In addition, psychologists claim that relaxation results in better performance during university life; therefore, travelling before university could be a good idea to be successful in the future. It could be deduced that taking a gap year after school could be beneficial for students, and, the author of this essay agrees that it is a great idea to take it.