In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunities abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In recent years, it has become much more common for students to complete their degrees overseas instead of in their home country. Many people believe that there are significant benefits to doing this, while others argue that there are also drawbacks connected to studying abroad. One advantage of studying abroad is that students can improve their language skills. This means that when the students return to their home countries, they will have more employment opportunities. For example, many young people who study in an English-speaking country for a few years develop strong communication skills and have the confidence to work in an international company when they return home. On the other hand, the benefit of studying abroad is that you can develop a better understanding of other cultures, for example, learning about a country’s customs, traditions and cuisines. The consequence of this is that people become more open-minded. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages of studying abroad. One drawback is that students may miss their friends and family and feel homesick. They may also find it difficult to connect with other students and make friends due to a language barrier. Another disadvantage is that students can experience a real culture shock when moving to another country. This is because the culture and language may be different which could lead to frustration for the student and dissatisfaction with their study experience. To sum up, it is clear that there are both advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad. In my opinion, the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. Although it is true that the experience may be challenging at first, on balance, if you study abroad you will have an enriching experience that will broaden your horizons and increase your future prospects.