Many people find it hard to balance their work with other parts of their lives. What are the reasons for this? What are the solutions?

The difficulty in keeping the balance between work and life that some people experience is struggling to maintain a comfortable workplace and spend quality time with the family. This can be tackled by the improvement of work policies and individual self-motivation. The pleasant working place is a major reason why people tend to find difficulties to have a work balance and this leads to mental health issues. That is because the lack of work - life - balance is come from having less time spent with their close ones which makes them have a tendency to be unproductive, worrying about their family. Moreover, the work environment encourages the employee’s mood to become more productive, whereas having a pleasant workplace increases the motivation of the workers. In Indonesia where most start-up companies neglected the importance of working places that need to be as cozy as possible by not building any entertainment areas and are not concerned about the work surrounding them due to a lack of funding so they only focus on the work desk solely. Consequently, the stress level of employees soared by almost halved in the last decade, and will be remained increase years afterward. Some solutions are provided by the government regarding the working regulation that could be a better way to increase the employee’s work - balance life. That is to say, the government has a powerful impact on the big company by changing the work policies regarding the working hours that need to be fair, and it can lead to the upward trend of employee productivity. Likewise, in the individual aspect, the solutions like people ought to set their own goals and priorities can improve their working balanced, where they can manage their time wisely and have the job done quickly, leading to more time for beneficial activities. For most of the teenagers, they implement this mindset where they tend to use 9-to-5 work time to focus on finishing their job solely and separating their daily life after working hours for doing their hobbies such as playing video games or spending time with their peers, experiencing life balance. As a result, teenagers are more likely to have less stress when they are enjoying their time by managing their priority of time. In conclusion, the pleasant working place and lack of time spent with families are stood as the major reason why people experience a struggling for having a work - life balance. Where possible, the external aspects like from government and the internal sector from individuals need to contribute to making the work - life balance become possible these days.