The restoration of old buildings in major cities in the world costs numerous governments' expenditure. This money should be used in new housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Never have the topics concerning the government's measures failed to attract the public's attention. And when it comes to whether the government's revenue should be spent on new housing, instead of repairing old houses, I partly agree with this view, for the reason that they are equally important. It can be understood why some people advocate that investing in new houses needs to be encouraged. To begin with, constructing new buildings can alleviate employment pressure to a certain extent. Compared with repairing the old ones, newly built houses are more closely associated with employment positions due to the fact that more industries and companies would be introduced. Provided that the government does not construct the new buildings, there will be fewer opportunities for the masses to hunt for jobs, which will possibly lead to a high unemployment rate, while investing in new houses can mitigate this issue. Apart from this, investing in new houses can also better the cityscape. It is not rare to see that some old buildings are dilapidated, which makes the city look disordered. However, the city will look more vibrant, attractive and appealing with those newly built constructions, showing a better image to the world. Nevertheless, the positive effects exerted by the refurbishment of historical buildings should not be underestimated. Repairing old architecture is of great educational significance. Those buildings provide platforms where the public can witness the history. Since these tangible assets can convert the tedious textbook into vivid historical knowledge and give a visual impact straightaway, this may arouse students’ curiosity and improve their learning effectiveness. At the same time, the public and tourists will also have the opportunity to learn about unique local culture and history. In addition, the restoration of old houses can boost the development of tertiary industry in some geographically isolated areas. Some abandoned historical buildings can be refurbished into tourist attractions as they have the potential to attract a great number of tourists. Therefore, it is prone to promote the prosperity of the tourism industry, which can increase the disposable income of local people. In conclusion, although putting more money into new housing can bring a lot of benefits, I'm still adamant that the importance of restoring old buildings is not supposed to be overlooked.