People should follow the customs and tradition when people start to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

When a person chooses to migrate to a new country, they usually find a hard time holding on to their cultural background. In order to preserve their identity and roots, some people claim that newcomers should follow their customs more. Personally, I partially agree with this idea and this essay will further elaborate on why I think it would be beneficial to stay loyal to the traditions while taking into consideration the manners of the new place as an immigrant. On the one hand, holding on to our cultural background as immigrants plays a huge role in the transmission of identity from one generation to another. When living abroad, it is easy to forget about the traditional customs and get influenced by foreigners, which leads to a loss of the unique aspect of each culture. For example, kids who grew up in a foreign country do not feel a sense of belonging to the country they are born in if their parents did not continuously remind them of their roots. On the other hand, adaptations are also necessary for immigrants as they are a way for them to blend into the new society. In other words, it is necessary to learn about the history of the locals in order to feel a sense of belonging, as these latest will give a lot of respect to the immigrants. For instance, when newcomers wear traditional clothing during festive periods, it immediately provides a respectful and welcoming attitude from others. To summarize, I personally think that migrants should follow the customs and traditions of their home countries in order to preserve their historical identity and adapt to the culture and manners of the locals to blend in with others and feel a sense of belonging there.