Many people nowadays spend a large of their free time using a smartphone. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There is an ongoing debate over whether using the phone during your spare time is a positive development or not. Some people claim that smartphone is a devil's toy and one shouldn' t use it too much, while others firmly believe that the benefits that smartphones are providing exceed the drawbacks. This essay will elucidate both sides of this argument and provide a clear conclusion on whether this tendency is a positive or negative development. On the one hand, in recent years, the number of individuals who spend most of their free time on their phones has increased. I think that the main cause of this is the comfort that gadgets provide. Some people claim that this trend has many drawbacks. They say that smartphones don' t provide anything useful to humanity, only distracting us from success. They believe that phones have a negative effect on our society, making the young generation addicted to social media and video games. For instance, recent research has revealed that 70% of the youth spend most of their life using gadgets, and due to that they miss out on many important events in their lives. On the other hand, new technologies tend to change our daily lives drastically. Things that were unimaginable in the past are common now. Our ancestors couldn' t imagine that one could explore space. Therefore, there will always be a problem with adapting to the new norms of today's fast-paced world. The movement of using gadgets during spare time can have many drawbacks, nevertheless, we should agree that we can' t stop this trend from growing. The only thing we can do now is to watch how this trend is affecting our future generations. In addition, there are some benefits that phones can provide such as unlimited information, great stress relievers and the possibility of meeting new friends while using social media. In conclusion, I think it is evident that we can' t say that using smartphones is a positive development but we can' t say it is a negative either. This tendency is just the thing society needs to adapt to.