Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the advent of technology, most of the print media has been taken by digital media. There is a debate going on for many years to choose which one is better and the question of spending money on the preservation of public libraries as the same functions can be provided by computer technology.we should maintain them as the silence, environment and resources are still there, this makes them unique although we have the latest technologies available. To begin with, public libraries have an aura that provides satisfaction to the readers. There is always a pin-drop silence in the libraries and everyone is either reading or searching through different sources available there. For example, when we use computers for information, we get bunches of advertisements that can easily distract us from our motive and we usually end up wasting our time watching and exploring them. Therefore, it is extremely significant to spend money to maintain public libraries as we can get study materials as well as the kind of environment where we can focus. Adding on to the above discussion, public libraries are the representatives of our history and existence. We can go to the libraries and get sources that will explain all the historical events and how we have been able to exist. For instance, the existence of Sikh rule in Punjab and its various rights can be confirmed by the British libraries in England. Those documents can only be obtained in this particular library. Thus, to get all the information regarding our roots, we need to protect libraries as data on the internet can be altered by many means but original documents can not be destroyed. To sum up,I would say, that public libraries symbolize uniqueness, sources of information, and historical events, ultimately, they are required to be maintained.