Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write post. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

The need for writing letters is reducing gradually with the introduction of various new modes of communication. Development of the technology has given us modern ways to reach out to people such as emails, video calls and text messages. In my opinion, there are various advantages of these latest ways of communicating. The primary advantage is that it helps us save a lot of time. We can send an email to anyone in any part of the world within few seconds unlike the letter that takes days to reach. Besides, we do not have to take out time to go to post offices to post the letter. Another advantage is that it helps in saving money as there is no need for the infrastructure namely post offices. Also, there is no transportation cost involved. For example, I used to write letters to my brother who was staying in Australia. I had to wait in long queues as well as send them atleast 15 days before festivals so that he would receive them timely. Moreover, it also helps in saving paper and hence is a small contribution towards reducing waste. A lot of energy and resources are involved in the recycling process that can be avoided. Furthermore, due to technological advancement, now we are able to see each other through video calls and this is one of the best ways of communication these days. For instance, I am residing in Canada right now and my family is in India. Through video calls, I am not only able to see them but I am also virtually present with them. To conclude, with the advancement in the technology, we should adopt to new modes of communicating with each other which are more economical and time-saving. Technology if used appropriately can be really useful.