Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's society, it is ubiquitous to notice that youngsters spend hours on their smartphones on a daily basis.The essay will point out that the reasons related to this tendency are an increase in access to modern gadgets and figure out that this trend is still regarded as a helpful development. To begin with, it is obvious that nowadays children are living in an era in which artificial intelligence and advanced technology are constantly developing,so smartphones are widely used by people of all ages, especially teenagers. This is because this device is not convenient but also accessible to many powerful platforms and eye-catching games. As a result, children are more inclined to spend almost a day playing games on smartphones which has an adverse effect on both their physical and mental health.Another reason is that juveniles are influenced by many popular social platforms, such as Facebook or Instagram.Needless to say, after long-term exposure to these websites, they find it hard to stop using their phones. However, it is not true that the tendency of spending a large amount of time utilizing phones among youngsters is negative.As a matter of fact, children can use their state-of-the-art gadgets with a view to broadening their horizons by learning through educational apps or programmes. Furthermore, they can have a myriad of opportunities to strike up new relationships by partaking in online courses and virtual meetings, which can be beneficial to their future career. In conclusion, although there is a range of reasons why a number of teenagers spend time using their smartphones, mostly connected to the convenience and easy access to these devices, I strongly believe that this tendency is still a positive development for youngsters in the long run because if given proper guidance, mobile phones can help them a lot both in their studying as well as their lives.