Due to rise in university fees arts subjects like history and philosophy should not be taught anymore. Only degree courses should be taught for better employment opportunities. Do you agree or disagree?

During an academic year, university students have to study varied subjects. Nowadays, there is a lot of debate going on about whether subjects like history and philosophy should be removed from the curriculum. Some opponents opine that because of the increase in school fees, these should not be taught anymore. Whereas, proponents feel that as they provide vital knowledge to children, they must be continued. This essay will elucidate my assertions that such subjects are imperative and should be a part of children’s learning. Certainly, lessons from history and philosophy are of substantial importance for students. So, history helps them to understand the occurrences in the past and to avoid repeating the same mistakes. Moreover, philosophy on the other hand enables pupils to have a broader view towards life. For instance, in contemporary times, these subject matter experts are highly in demand because they understand a client’s psychology and assist them in decision-making. Thus, if youngsters are exposed to these subjects at an early age, some might even it take up as their profession in order to become successful. Some people believe that subjects like technology, finance, operations, etc., which have great demand in the corporate world, should be a part of the university portion. Having said that, not all students have the same calibre to cope with challenging subjects. Moreover, not all of them would have the interest to learn them as their interest could lie in arts, history, craft, etc. Including them in portions might demotivate children to study further. Thus, to achieve overall growth and development, it is essential to have all types of subjects in academics. Hence, in my opinion, an university curriculum must be inclusive and designed well to cater for the needs of all students. This will not only motivate pupils to study hard but also to do well in their academics and become successful in life.