Some countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. To what extent is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, the advancement of transportation makes a possibility for transporting food from other countries. Therefore, many nations try to import foreign dishes massively, while I assume that it will cause some negative effects on the local societies. To begin with, the increase in imported cuisines could generate a significant decrease in the demand for local food since citizens believe that international foods are more modern rather than their local food. Because of that, the inhabitants have a tendency to spend their money on buying foreign meals, leading economic conditions to be unstable because the national money could not rotate in this sector. Moreover, native employees who work in the food sector will be impacted by this situation, and resulted in their occupations will be lost. For instance, Indonesia is an agricultural country who have an abundance of spices, while the local inhabitants assume that spices are very traditional in this era and prefer to consume imported vegetables. This condition affects the indigenous farmers losing their jobs, and causing social and economic problems. In addition, because the country imports a large amount of international food leads the citizens do have not a high level of nationality because they are provided with many options for foreign food. Thus, native food will be threatened by foreign meals, becoming unpopular and not attractive, whereas local dishes are a part of the indigenous cultures. Furthermore, if people tend to choose a foreign dish, they will lose their national identity which will impact the diversity of traditions. For example, World Records released Rendang as the most popular meal in Indonesia in 2015, although due to globalization, the government import a lot of snacks from Korea, and Rendang was replaced by Korean foods in 2021, becoming the best-selling dish in Indonesia. To sum up, foreign cuisines could affect negatively local people since it makes the nationality of the inhabitants decline significantly and brings social and economic issues for the country. If possible the government should be involved to prevent those effects and try to promote their local meals at the international level.