Some people say that the best way to discourage smoking is to make smoking illegal in public places. Other people say that this is not enough and other measures are needed. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In modern times, especially here in my country which is the Philippines a lot of people are using cigarettes to reduce their stress. However, some people suggest that the government should mandate a law that does not allow smokers in public places. On the other hand, some people in society think that in order to encourage people to stop smoking there should be other precautions. In this essay, I will discuss how to reverse the perspective of smokers when it comes to using cigarettes. Firstly, smoking is a personal decision and most people here in my country do not abide by the law. So, I think providing a law does not guarantee people will stop what they are doing. Secondly, people who used cigarettes for a long time will have a hard time stopping this habit. However, if they will have the right information about the drawbacks of consistent usage of cigarettes then, they may come to their senses of deciding to stop smoking on their own. In addition to that, perhaps the government may increase the tax on smoking products, which can give them a hard time purchasing if the price is above the price they can afford. Thirdly, the community can get involved in giving a hand to a person they know who is using cigarettes and give them pieces of advice and ways to get their attention. Such as, giving them recreational activities, doing some exercise, and getting fit. In conclusion, several steps are needed to help a person who is struggling with smoking addiction. It should start with themselves. Thus, the government should make movements.