Success is often measured by wealth and material belongings. Do you think wealth is the best measure of success? What makes a successful person?

Many hold the belief that money and assets are good indicators to define a successful person. I espouse that success cannot be solely determined by wealth and someone’s achievement depends on their individual accomplishments and contentment. In regards to success and accomplishments, majority of the people argue that money and assets someone possesses are good measuring tools. In other words, in this modern world, people have a tendency to appreciate individuals who are financially wealthy. Although there are many learned scholars who have accomplished many achievements academically, their achievements are not always popular among people but a wealthy person is well accepted by many. Nicholas Tesla, for instance, was not recognized by people of his time. However, Thomas Edison, an entrepreneur-scientist, was famous among them because of his financial background. Despite all these factors, I believe that success should not be materialistic. Conversely, opposing this argument, I hold the opinion that the estimation of success should be individualized. To explain further, success should be based on someone’s internal satisfaction and should not be judged by others. Someone can be not wealthy but he can be content with his own achievements. This is because there are many people around the world who have earned mind-blowing amounts of wealth but do not have internal satisfaction in their life. For example, Abdul Kalam, a famous Indian scientist, held his head always high not because of his wealth but because of his inventions, and he is considered one of the greatest to ever live in the country. To conclude, though there is a popular opinion that financial status defines success I believe that measurement of success should be based on someone’s self-satisfaction and not solely on their financial success.