In some countries, a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think that this is good for a country, while others believe that the government should control salaries and limit the amount people can earn. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is reported that certain people in some nations are paid huge amounts of wages. Some believe that this is beneficial for a country. On the contrary, others claim that the government should introduce a cap on the total amount of salaries that individuals should earn. In this essay, I will discuss in detail both statements and duly give my opinion. On the one hand, we may argue that there are some benefits of getting high payment in a job. One who has major expertise in his chosen field should be rewarded appropriately. This is because not many people have the necessary experiences and the required skills needed for a certain job. It requires a lot of effort to reach a high position that entitles one to be duly paid. Moreover, high salaries are appropriate in order to maintain the quality of work. For instance, specialist doctors are handsomely paid because their required expertise is in high demand so far as the healthcare system is concerned. On the other hand, we may also contend that the government should impose a ceiling on one’s salary. This is true to some extent. While there are some people who are being modestly paid, others - like celebrities and football players - however are generally overpaid. The case in point is Ronaldo. His net worth was estimated at circa 100 million USD. On the contrary, the maximum wage of a neurologist is merely 500 thousand USD annually. This certainly creates a gap of inequality in society. To add salt to the injury, the difference in salary may widen the haves and have-nots in society. To sum up, we may safely say that both situations have their own merits and demerits. However, I am of the view that people should be paid in accordance with their expertise and hard work regardless of how high the salary might be.