Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Advertising is widely considered a critical aspect by companies globally, and it is definitely connected to our lives. While some people assert that advertisements sway consumers to purchase products, others argue that it is tedious due to their widespread dissemination. In my opinion, I strongly endorse that advertisements do affect our choices. First of all, despite the strenuous efforts of companies, advertisements can be avoided easily by people. Online advertising is a good example of this. Users rarely click on or even glance at a website’s pop-up ads or auto-playing video ads. Additionally, many consumers choose to subscribe to a specific programme which has a function to eliminate irrelevant advertisements such as ‘Youtube Premium’. This is an inevitable result for those who live in a fast-paced society, trying to watch certain videos whatever they crave without time wasting. This phenomenon underpins the argument that advertisements do not attract consumers. However, advertisements are still effective in some ways. In the current times, industries are trying to utilize various marketing skills to attract consumers and boost their sales such as captivating package designs, coupons, hefty discounts and so on. For instance, the most popular method to promote products is to use celebrity status. Especially these days, modern people are exposed to social media; hence they tend to follow their favourite influencers. They could purchase a number of clothes or cosmetics which were posted on a celebrity’s Instagram, which is the most common social media app. Even though not every single commercial is effective, some of the promoting methods do work and produce successful results. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, it is obvious that advertising is still a potential leader in grabbing the attention of buyers even though some people try to disregard it.