Nowadays food has become easier to prepare. Has this change improved the way people live? Give reasons for your answer using your own ideas and experience.

In this contemporary era, the time consumed in the preparation of food has declined and people find it easy to cook food because of the semi-processed items and appliances available in the market. This aspect has both positive and negative implications for the lives of residents. This essay will discuss the benefits of pre-cooked food and the drawbacks it has on the health of the consumers, in the upcoming paragraphs. To commence with, nowadays, almost all families have hectic schedules and they rely on packed food items which they can reheat or cook in a few minutes. Buying such food saves the time and energy of the cook and gives them time to relax which enhances their energy for the next day. For instance, if a person buys frozen readymade chapattis from the grocery store, they just need to heat it in the microwave to make sure it is ready to eat. This saves their time in preparing dough and making chapattis. Hence, they can utilise the saved time for relaxing or doing other household chores. Thus, pre-cooked food offers convenience to the people. On the flip side, there are disadvantages to consuming processed food. It leads to unhealthy lifestyles and enhances the chances of physical illnesses such as cardiovascular diseases and obesity. The prepared food is stored in refrigerators and have long-term expiries. These foods are not fresh and healthy to eat every day. For example, a survey conducted in Medicity Hospital in India provided that 80 per cent of the total patients were prone to diseases because of high dependence on frozen food items. Therefore, over-dependence on processed food items negatively impacts the health of the people. To conclude, though there are certain pros of cooking frozen food in terms of saving time, this trend leads to several health problems in the long run. So, it is important to maintain a balance between fresh food and unhealthy food.