There is a mixture of people from different cultures and ethnic groups in a country. Why? Is this a positive or negative development?

Recent years have witnessed the staggering development of globalization. Nowadays, it is common to see people from different cultures and ethnic groups coexist in a given nation. From my perspective, the reasons are multidimensional and it is a positive development. The root causes of this phenomenon can be various. To begin with, a multicultural society is one of the results of technological development. With the advent of the Internet, geographical barriers have almost gone with the wind and information can be disseminated effectively. Since people get more exposure to the splendid culture and history of other regions, they might travel or migrate to other countries and choose the country in which they love to put their roots. Furthermore, the coexistence of individuals from different nations can be ascribed to the prevalence of overseas education. A soaring number of students plan to study abroad due to abundant educational resources and job opportunities, which indeed exacerbates this trend. Undoubtedly, this development will exert some positive effects on society. To a certain extent, this trend can alleviate cultural conflicts. Higher population mobility can facilitate cultural exchanges. Since the masses have more chances to communicate with others from different cultural backgrounds, mutual understanding can be built; consequently, bias, stereotypes and inveterate prejudice can be mitigated. In a long run, the whole society will become more enlightening and inclusive. In addition, the mixed population can contribute to economic prosperity. For some countries, immigration is an essential part of the labour force. Provided that people are confined in their own country or city, it will lead to a shortage of labour in some developed countries, which might be detrimental to the economic development of the whole world. In conclusion, the causes of the emergency of multicultural countries are manifold, and it is beneficial to the advancement of each country and globalization as well.