Some people think that e-books are the death of paper books while others think that paper books will never disappear. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Whether or not e- books will render paper books obsolete has been a topic of debate recently. While e- books do have advantages, I would argue that physical books will continue to be used due to benefits that e- books cannot substitute. On the one hand, the major advantage of electronic books is that we can have hundreds or even thousands of titles in one light electronic device, which is very convenient compared to having to carry heavy physical books around. The production and distribution of e- books are also more time-efficient and greatly reduce the use of trees and ink, making this option more environmentally friendly. With the current environmental decline and problems, people who are conscious about this issue would continue to prefer to buy e- books rather than physical paper books. On the other hand, I believe that paper books remain superior to their digital counterparts. Being able to turn the pages of a physical book is an advantage as humans have an inherent need for tactile stimuli and the reading experience is important to develop a positive attitude towards the activity. Another benefit is that paper books do not need a battery of which energy can be depleted and that needs to be recharged; we can read a book whenever we want without having to worry about the power running out and not being able to finish reading when we want to. The final reason is that some people may also not be able to use electronic devices, such as the elderly and children, as they might not understand how to use such devices or face great difficulty operating them. If paper books were to no longer be made available, the elderly and children would be deprived of their enjoyment of reading newly published books altogether. In conclusion, although e- books are becoming increasingly common, in my opinion physical books will continue to exist due to their irreplaceable benefits.