Despite the fact that tourism contributes a great deal to economies around the world, it damages local cultures and the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people assert that tourism damages local cultures and the natural environment all over the world in spite of the fact it helps economically. Is there any merit to this belief? There are two reasons to support this idea: firstly, the tourist industry does not pay attention to cultures and the nature and secondly, governments spend less amounts of money on protecting them. First of all, the tourist industry tends to ignore the importance of local cultures and the natural environment, and concentrate only their profits. By way of an example, some tourist companies made some tours, which their customers enter protected areas in a national park. According to an article published by the Asahi Shimbun Travelling supplement, more than 50% of companies whose customers are from foreign countries provided illegal tours such as visiting prohibited areas in a national park because they can get more money through these tours. As a result, the local culture and the environment have been damaged. Secondly, governments invest less amounts of money in preserving local cultures and the environment than those on tourism. Research recently conducted by the university of Tokyo discovered that the Government of Japan does not use enough money to protect them while they spend too many funds on tourism. The government can use 6 billion dollars in the cultural and environmental sector a year if they stop wasting money on tourism. As the result, many Japanese people now claim that more budget should be used for culture and the natural environment. In conclusion, there are clear disadvantages to tourism such as the tourist industry and governments do not pay attention to local culture and the environment. They must regard culture and nature as crucial stuff and take action to protect them.