Children should take part time jobs in their free time or they should totally focus on their studies. What are the advantages and disadvantages to children of doing so?

Children are an integral part of our society. There is a considerable debate on whether learners should do part-time jobs in their spare time,or they should concentrate on their studies. In my,essay I shall discuss the pros and cons of the same, with relevant examples, and state why I believe that students should be engaged in supplementary jobs along with the curriculum. First and foremost, as education is getting immensely expensive, doing part-time errands is an important means of earning some additional money, to take care of the expenses. For, example, most undergrads in Canadian universities earn extra by working in their spare hours. Moreover, it gives them the experience of working in real situations which is invaluable. To cite an instance, surveys in Tim Horton's revealed that students who worked there felt the experience added up to considerable value to their learning. Furthermore, working between educational programmes eventually relieves boredom. To exemplify, in India it was found that students working in between their semesters were more energetic than those who chose not to work. Thus, the advantages of working are economic flexibility, experience and avoid being bored. On the contrary, it is argued, that earning alongside studies may affect the concentration of the studious. To exemplify, many universities in India prevent children from part-time working to keep them focussed to study. It is also further apprehended that once they start earning, they will lose appetite for further studies which may affect subsequent career growth. To exemplify, data from the UK reveal most dropouts from colleges were part-timers before they left the institution. Therefore, there is a danger of loss of concentration, focus and dropout which are significant. To summarise, it can be said that there are both merits and challenges in pupils working beyond their study hours. However, it largely depends on the individual needs and motivation and if properly handled the merits are too difficult to ignore.