Housing shortage in big cities can cause severe social consequences. Some people think only government action can solve this problem. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Housing scarcity in metropolitan cities has caused a critical impact on society. Some people believed that the government's action would be the only solution to tackle this issue. I wholeheartedly agree, and this essay will explain how government action through policymaking and collaboration could solve that. Regarding this, it is the government's responsibility to provide affordable housing for society through regulation and policy. Since it can be caused by the increasing number of temporary accommodations owned by private sectors, the government should control it, one of which is through a policy called progressive tax. In Indonesia, for instance, this policy caused the people who already owned a building would think twice to purchase a property or a land since the tax would be doubled. If the policymakers can create such conditions to control the landlord, it will bring equal opportunity to possess a permanent home. Another way to tackle the housing crisis is through collaboration with the communities and developers. It needs to be taken into account that this crisis is happening due to a shortage of land available, hence another thing that could be done by the government is collaborating with private sectors who already own the land. The government could municipalize buildings and offer substantial amounts of subsidies for the people. For example, some of the apartments called 'Rusun / Rumah Susun' in Jakarta were previously owned and run by the private sector before the municipalisation by the government. It offers cheap to free prices for people from low socioeconomic backgrounds, therefore reducing number of homeless people. In conclusion, the shortage of housing that currently occurs can be solved by the government. While the regulation and thorough policymaking process can help, the involvement of private sectors and community organizations can play a critical role in alleviating house shortages.