International travel is becoming cheaper and cheaper, and more countries are now opening their doors to foreign visitors. Do you think that the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, travelling around the world is becoming more and more popular because of the low prices. However, in my opinion, there are more cons than pros of tourism. For instance, the pollution is getting worse, the culture slowly disappears and the people in the tourist branch have long working days for a bad salary. I will now explain my arguments in detail in the following paragraphs. To start with pollution, pollution has a big effect on our life quality. Touriststourists travel often by plane or car to their destination. When they enter the country, they often hire a taxi or drive around to go to tourist attractions. Subsequently, they make a mess at the places they visit. For example, the popular city of Rome was ultra-clean during the pandemic. Tourists ensure pollution by their way of behaving. Another reason is that tourists have a big effect on the culture of a society. For example, in almost all of the retail shops in Amsterdam, English is the native language. It is beginning to look like the residents are becoming the new tourists in their own country. Proponents argue that because of tourists there are a lot of jobs. I have to agree with that, however, the employees have to work long days and do not get paid well. The money goes to the owners of the company who make a big profit. Unfortunately, tourism generally benefits the people who already live a wealthy life. To conclude, the advantages of tourism do not outweigh the disadvantages. The pollution is increasing, the culture will slowly disappear and tourism does not benefit the local people.