Some countries have come up with law to restrict the working hours of an employee. What is the reason for this ? Is that positive or negative ?

In the current era, it is very common for employees to spend extra hours working in order to gain more money or experience. For that reason, some countries chose to put into action restrictive laws for working times in order to limit overworking. This essay will further elaborate on the reasons behind these rules and why I personally think that they will have both a positive and a negative impact on the population. To begin with, there are many reasons behind governments implementing certain restrictions regarding working hours and schedules in certain parts of the world. Firstly, overworking leads to serious health problems, both physical and mental, which causes burn-out and consequently provokes the opposite effect of what is desired. Secondly, limiting working time is beneficial for the population as it provides an opportunity to rest and recharge. For example, most employees feel more productive after spending time with their relatives and friends on the weekend. Thus, the main reason behind these rules is to prevent overworking. Furthermore, I personally envision that these restrictions might be beneficial for the staff and active workers because it preserves their well-being and limits their risk of unproductivity by providing a sense of balance between the personal and professional sides of life. However, I also think that restricting the active time of workers might limit their chances to earn more money, as they are usually paid more money while working those extra hours, which might help people in need. For instance, the medical staff often over-work during night shifts and holidays in order to gain more cash and earn a higher income. To summarize, there are multiple reasons driving some countries to put restrictions in the workplace, and one of them would be the prevention of burn-out, therefore making this situation beneficial or negative for the staff.