Technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Owning to the fact that societies are changing constantly and witnessing an increasing number of technological advancements. As a result, more and more kids gravitate towards spending their spare time with technology nowadays, which is a different story from what it was in the past. However, in my opinion, this can do more harm than good. First and foremost, approaching electronic devices from an early age could develop the self-study ability of kids and stand a chance of entertaining as well as enriching their knowledge. For example, there is a range of educational videos from some social platforms such as Youtube or Tiktok, which could be seen as a variety of information that they could learn anything they wish while they are having a sense of relaxation. However, despite the aforementioned benefits, I would contend that this could engender some valid concerns. Children are gradually reducing the time they spend on sports or outdoor activities because of the appeal of electronic devices namely computers, tablets, smartphones, etc. It not only leads to a sedentary lifestyle but also has many adverse bearings on their well-being. For instance, they could suffer from back pain or eye problems caused by the light of screens. On the other hand, due to the fact that the young lean towards using technology as a means to unwind, they tend to lose the connection with their families or their peers. Instead of talking directly or sharing their daily stories with other people, they are inclined to sit in front of the computer to play games for hours. If the connection between kids and adults is lost, it may lead to a plethora of potent risks since the lack of conversations makes parents feel difficult to understand their offspring. They do not know about the dreams or problems of their kids so they do not have any strategy to help them achieve goals or overcome obstacles. In conclusion, while this phenomenon is valid to a certain extent, I believe that technologies cause a number of significant drawbacks to the well-being of children if they allocate their free time completely to electronic devices.