governments should spend money on railways rather than roads .to what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

It goes without saying that since cars and other transportation vehicles were invented, governments were continuously trying to develop roads and railways. In other words, roads were an imperative part of transportation and all countries are trying to construct the best roads and railways. Although roads are important for cars and motorbikes, railways are essential too and some people believe that governments should invest more in building railways rather than roads. As far as I am concerned, developing roads must be the priority and in what follows, two elaborate reasons will vindicate my standpoint. The most significant reason coming to mind is the fact that the majority of people drive cars instead of using trains. A compelling example can drive this notion home. In my country, more than 75% of people prefer travelling by car instead of train. However, my country has spent millions of dollars on railways to have the newest trains and railways. In fact, this could not reduce the rate of people who prefer cars. In addition, the government has not paid enough attention to build safer roads and this leads to a significant rate of accidents. If the government had invested more in constructing safer roads, the accident rate would have been much lower. Another equally noteworthy reason to bear in mind is the fact that in some countries, travelling by train is costly. Hence, people prefer to choose some other sorts of transportation. To sum it all up, having considered all the aforementioned reasons and examples, I strongly believe that building roads is more important than railways. However, it was just a short story in a nutshell and there are more cogent reasons to be contemplated. I hope every country invests based on its people's needs.