Essay topics: In many western countries there is an increasing number of couples choosing to have no children. What are the advantages and disadvantages to couples having no children?

In the modern age, especially in western countries, the ever-increasing number of childless couples has raised debates. Although having a child or not is fully dependent on the choice of the couple, it has both some advantages and disadvantages. This essay will explore both the benefits and drawbacks of being childless. It is said that children are the blessing of God, however, at the present time most couples are satisfied with being child -free. Not having a child can have several benefits, for example, those who do not have any child have fewer responsibilities and pressures than those who have. Therefore, they can provide that spare time for the welfare of others as well as society. For instance, they can engage in social work or work for other's children. Moreover, couples who do not have children can involve themselves in some creative works such as music and art which would help them to grow and shine. For example, they can dedicate a huge amount of time to practising music or other forms of art. But, if they have a child, it would not be possible for them. On the contrary, there are definitely some drawbacks to not having a child. Those who are not interested in childbearing, are regarded as different in the eye of society. Because giving birth and rearing children is one of the basic responsibilities of human civilization and who are reluctant to do that are criticized by society. Moreover, to continue the human race giving birth has become the essential criterion of human life. For example, the birth rate is too low in some countries and the number of elderly people is increasing. So giving birth and balancing the population is one of the important issues of recent times. To conclude, even though childbearing has both merits and demerits it should be left to the choice of the couples. However, in some countries where the birth rates are low couples should encourage to have children there.