More and more people today are choosing to eat only healthy food and are making time to exercise regularly. Why is this? What can be done to encourage other people to eat only healthy food and to make time to exercise regularly?

It is true that many people today are adopting healthy eating and regular exercise. Some reasons for these trends can be identified, and more measures could be taken to encourage others to follow suit. The growing desire for a healthy lifestyle is principally a result of education. In terms of food, children in schools in developed countries are now providing a healthier diet, and may even be offered a vegetarian or a vegan diet. For example, there is a hint of schools in Malaysia offering directly a vegan diet on students' menus for lunch every Tuesday. This helps them are getting used to enjoying salubrious food. Also, there are more websites and magazines that encourage people to eat a balanced diet with a high proportion of fresh fruit and vegetables. From the perspective of regular exercise, health awareness campaigns are making people more conscious of the danger of a sedentary lifestyle and promoting various ways to keep fit. Even elderly people are encouraged to take gentle exercises, such as walking or swimming. More should now be done to campaign for healthy eating and the benefits of getting into shape. Firstly, national and local authorities must allocate resources to the promotion of healthy eating. For example, a very successful campaign in the United Kingdom a few years ago used the slogan of “5-a-day”. Making the public aware of the benefits of eating a minimum of 5 proportion of fruit and vegetables every day. Secondly, governments should provide funding for more sports facilities. The majority of the population should have free access to a local sports centre where they could work out at the gym, swim or take part in exercise classes. In conclusion, education has played a significant role in encouraging people to exercise and eat more healthy food. If governments devote more resources to promoting these trends, then even more people are likely to make these healthy choices.