Many people believe that formal “pen and paper” examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. Discuss this view and give your own opinion. What is your view of examinations?

In many countries, there is an ongoing debate about whether traditional “pen and paper” examinations are the most effective way to measure students’ academic achievement. While some argue that formal tests remain the best method of assessment, others believe that alternative approaches are needed to evaluate a learner’s true abilities. This essay will examine both views and present my own opinion. On the one hand, old people think this kind of educational assessment is a measure of effective learning. To illustrate this, using a pen to move what learners have learnt onto paper helps improve their ability for critical thinking and benefits in solving problems. In addition, this type is affordable and can be afforded by different schools and universities. For example, African countries like Cameroon, Sudan and South Africa have a small budget, and they can cut a portion to invest in the education sector. On the other hand, using this kind of examination technique is superior to moving to an electronic one. In other words, one of the crucial problems with this type is that online exams can face technical issues that disturb various enrollees. Moreover, with the rapid growth of cheating cases, online exams may not be fair for the students with high grades because online exams mean it could be challenging. For instance, research conducted in Germany revealed that, most colleges prefer the oldest fashion because of the immense problems with the new ones. To conclude, people hold different opinions on this issue, and the Ministry of Education should take these views into account by combining both traditional and modern forms of assessment for the benefit of students. In my opinion, a balanced approach is the most effective way to measure a student’s real understanding of the subject.