Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Most individuals tend to reside in other countries where they cannot rely on their mother tongue, which foreign languages need to be acquired. Some people may perceive this as an excellent opportunity to create a cross-cultural understanding by learning a new language. However, I believe using a foreign speech they are unfamiliar with can lead to an adverse situation because people might comprehend it differently. speaking in a new language, particularly for daily interactions, has never been challenging. It can create miscommunication with native speakers and it would be hard to befriend new people because they will avoid the conversation if they do not understand it. For example, in daily activities such as purchasing food when they ask for some items to be bought, the seller will hardly grasp their orders promptly. As a result, the sellers often become irritated easily because they need to spend a longer time serving the customers, which can cause a commotion in the line. Furthermore, language barriers can cause a worse condition where they are being accused of inappropriate behaviours or crimes by others accidentally. They will have a hard time explaining their reasonings properly. For instance, there was news in the US about a Mexican driver who was not fluent in English and got arrested for false accusations. Thus, he struggled a lot in defending himself due to limited language skills to the police. To summarize, speaking foreign languages to settle in other countries where they are not familiar with the language can cause several problems in their daily lives, such as miscommunication and misinterpretation or can make them get into trouble, although they do not commit.