Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today, big companies spend a huge part of their total expenditure on marketing. They pay for billboards, e-mail notifications and other places to put their products. Consequently, many people argue that advertising is no more able to persuade us to purchase its products. Personally, I do not completely agree with this statement. On the one hand, when corporations pay for advertising, their main goal is not to make people willed to buy things, but to remain company’s or product’s name in our mind. For instance, we could recall Red Bull sponsoring all big sport events. They do not expect that people who saw their logo will immediately run to stores and buy their energy drinks. However, the company knows that if people who always see Red Bull sign wanted to buy an energy drink, they would buy those brand whose name they knew the best. On the other hand, some marketing specialists forget that if their product is too naughty and appears everywhere, some people will start hating and never buy it. For example, I know that I will never go to a bet company whose advertising I heard hundreds of times watching films in the Internet. Consequently, I think that it is very important to find the appropriate balance in marketing products. In conclusion, I can assume that advertising still works. If 50 years ago its main purpose was to sell products, now companies aim to mention their names wherever they could, so maybe that it is the point of the statement that advertising is too common to sell us something. However, it is important not to go to far and not to make bad impression on your product.