Some people think all university student should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A group of individuals present the view that university students should pursue their interests by studying what they prefer, whereas others maintain that they should be forced to study majors that can offer benefits in the future. I strongly agree with the former arguments, and the reasons will be outlined. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that if students follow what they are interested in at college, they are more likely to become accomplished. In this regard, research findings confirm that the efficiency of students who find their field of study satisfactory is nearly twice as much as that of those who are compelled to pursue a major in higher education. Furthermore, by studying a fond subject, students face fewer challenges to stay motivated; thus, if they face difficulties, they are very likely to overcome them and obtain strong credentials. For instance, a friend of mine who is fond of materials science studies more than ten hours a day and never gives up when some unappealing results are obtained. On the other hand, another group claims that the government should enforce strict laws so as to ban studying in certain research areas. They insist that dedicating funds as well as spending time on some fields, such as history, is a complete waste of resources and time because they fail to improve the next generations' standards of living. However, I do not find this argument convincing, as it is believed that history, for example, is full of valuable life lessons that have been passed down from our ancestors; therefore, we should take full advantage of it by encouraging students to gain in-depth knowledge in this field at universities, which can broaden researchers' horizons to explore unknown domains in the future. To conclude, in my view, students should not be restricted to study only certain fields. Studying beloved subjects not only can boost their performance but also may open the doors to novel discoveries.