In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Convincing children that hard work results in task accomplishment is common in some countries; this message can be beneficial to children in order to motivate them to achieve their goals. However, it can cause some negative consequences. Persuading children that working hard has a variety of benefits. To begin, one argument in favour of encouraging them to work hard is that it prepares teenagers for future problems. A common example of this is when they need to apply to the best university, they should have sufficient proficiency to do so. Another obvious advantage is that teenagers who are inspired by adults are more likely to strive to be their best selves with a positive attitude. Indeed, when they fail, they can pass through a barrier with positive thinking and high self-esteem. Despite these positive aspects, though, convincing youngsters that hard work has also brought a range of negative effects. A common criticism of this message is that making children more stressed. One research article suggests that the vast majority of adolescents who get excessive attention from adults suffer from mental health issues such as anxiety, depression, and isolation. Another objection is that this message is due to the belief that everything is possible. For example, they need to be millionaires at this age, so they may work too hard to meet their goals without regard for the consequences. To conclude, I think although it is advantageous to tell children that working hard towards a goal always yields positive results. It can cause them issues such as frustration and burnout.