Governments give lots of supports to artists, even though some people think it is a waste of money that could have been spent better elsewhere. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, a debate regarding government financial support for artists has emerged. In particular, some people argue that the funds used to help artists would be more useful if spent elsewhere. In my opinion, while to some extent this view is true, some kind of support for art is important. In this essay, a brief explanation of the matter will be given. It is undoubtedly true that financially supporting art can be important for the population too. In fact, few will dispute the role of art in everyday life, since more or less everyone benefits from artistic production. For instance, the majority of the community listens to some music during the day, and many singers have been helped by the government during their careers. Furthermore, without this public expenditure, many performers would have withdrawn because of financial issues before getting recognised. Given the fundamental impact of art in society and the need for help, especially at the beginning of their careers, of artists, it is not entirely inaccurate to affirm that the capital spent on these projects is not wasted. On the other hand, it could be said that artists should earn money for themselves and there is more need for public funding in other sectors. Indeed, it could be argued that, if the art is great, the population will directly back it in many manners, such as by buying it or going to events. Meanwhile giving out large sums of money to everyone, is only giving hope to people who will not emerge. For example, this has been the case for a large number of visual artists that lived only thanks to projects issued by city councils, whereas nearly no one was interested in their work. Furthermore, there are other sectors, in which every penny is important, that could benefit more from public funds. This could be the case with social security, where there is a desperate need for support that really helps to improve some people's life. Considering all these issues, it is clear that funding for art should be at least limited. In conclusion, I think that it is important to support art, but that this support should be limited. As stated above, there are too many artists who cannot sustain themselves with their productions and they should simply have to find another path in life because giving money to them is only a burden. However, government-funded events can be an occasion for someone to gain recognition, so this type of support should not be cancelled. For these reasons, the support should be in form of giving spaces where performers can promote themselves, and not direct financing.