Individuals should not be allowed to carry guns as it increases the crime and violence in the society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is a norm for some countries to allow their citizens to possess guns; however, whether it is a beneficial policy or not is still a controversial issue. I strongly believe that such an enactment brings about a handful of merits for not only civilians but also the nation. To embark on, there is no doubt that it is advantageous for gun ownership to be legalized. First of all, this enables people, especially those living in far-off areas where it might take the police a long time to arrive, to defend themselves against hostile or to protect their beloved family members from aggression, both of which are found to be on rare occasions yet detrimental when they take place. This is mainly because as the human population grows so does the social crimes that show no sign of decreasing and keep escalating at an alarming rate. In fact, more and more homicide cases happen with a dreadful fact that most of the victims are unaware of the attacks and have no chance to take action for the sake of their own safety when the murderers are armed. Therefore, it is believed that owning a gun is requisite in terms of protecting yourself from threats. Last but not least, arm sales gathers momentum in this modern world which brings a huge amount of profit as well as national security. On contrary, it is evident that there are still some drawbacks that allegedly hold some politicians and many of the public back from allowing weapons to be used by the grass roots. It is for the fear of more violent crimes related to guns that there might be more casualties and injuries. Taking the mass shooting at Christchurch Mosque as an examples, the New Zealanders are still mourning for the death of dozens of people with the responsibility falling in the hand of a man who is a Supremacist aiming his assault riffles at the innocent. However, some people have pointed out that if those victims had carried a piece of weapon with them, the table might have been turned. It might be because they are still convinced that the civilians at the crime scene could have had a chance to fire back for their own life and many others’. In a nutshell, although there still exist some short-comings involved with gun ownership, with practical alienations and restrictions, I deliberately (=intentionally, with all belief) hold the view that the benefits prevail.