Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Family forms an integral part of our lives. At every turn of our lives, no one can turn a blind eye to the significant effect of family in our lives. Therefore, it is important to consider whether having an extended family is more important or not than it was in the past. In my view, I disagree with the statement that extended family is less important today than it was in the past, mainly for two reasons which I will explain below. First and foremost, having a big family is a blessing in disguise. We get to learn and understand the importance of the value of life. Stories narrated by our grandparents will bring forth a change in the perspective of how we live our lives. For example, my grandma used to tell me stories of how she used to wake up every morning and go in search of wood so that they can ignite the fire using them for cooking. They used to walk more than ten miles in search of these woods. But today, with just a turn of the knob, there's fire. This and many other stories created a sense of great understanding of how precious our lives are. Secondly, extending family helps us in different situations of life. They have more knowledge and experience than us. My life is one example of this. During my college days, as I was staying away from my parents, I got into an accident and I didn't know what to do. I immediately resorted to calling my uncle, who came as soon as he can and eventually resolved the matter. The way they interact and behave is far more mature than we can imagine. In conclusion, I believe having an extended family is a blessing in disguise, as we get to learn many things from their lives and also be influenced by their knowledge. Some people may argue that having them around is less important, but I on the other hand regard them as an integral part of our present life.