Some people think the news has no real connection to people’s lives, so reading newspapers or watching news programmes on television is a waste of time. Do you agree or disagree?

As society is advancing by leaps and bounds, people attach great importance to lives and time. Under this circumstance, an absolute consensus can hardly be reached as to whether reading newspapers and watching news programmes on television is waste of time. For my part, I side with the opponents to the large extent based on the following sound reasons. Firstly, it is noteworthy that people know more about the world not only via the Internet but also via televisions, especially elderly people who do not usually use technology products. Many studies have shown that although it is invisible, news and information could help people increase their international knowledge. For example, when I was in Vietnam, if I did not read newspapers or magazines about Japan, I would never know how modern Japan is. Secondly, another reason why I disagree is that there is no research that news has no link to the public's lives. People should take into consideration the fact that news is the connection between community and community. If there is no news or information, we could not know what is happening in the world. For instance, last year, there was a war between Ukraine and Russia, if we did not know about that, we could not give a hand to the poor people. Thanks to this, I treasure the peace of the world more than before. In conclusion, I am convinced that reading newspapers, and watching news programmes on television are worth it. Thanks to the news, we know exactly what is happening and what we should do.