Some people think old buildings should be kept because they reflect the unique culture of a society while modern buildings look alike. Other say that today there should be more modern buildings. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are still places in the world where you can find very old structures existing today. It is argued that such buildings should be maintained due to the unique representation of society's culture. While others say that today there should be more numbers of new buildings. This essay will discuss how old buildings depict cultural values and past-day memory attached to religious beliefs, despite the modern structures are important as they are taller, stronger, equipped with heating and cooling and earthquake resistant. On the one side, Old monuments, temples and government structures represent our culture, values and old or ancestors' memory. Popular monuments such as the Taj Mahal, the Pyramid of Giza, and the Great Wall of China, are not only representations of our culture but also incredible attractions to tourists worldwide. In addition to this, temples, churches and mosques are the symbols of different religious belief systems, and millions of believers have faith in them. For example, knocking down such structures when they just need regular maintenance is not a wise decision to make to build new ones instead. In my view, I would say that such buildings should be well-preserved by providing regular maintenance because they offer a lot of the things I described above. However, some people say that today there should be more modern constructions. They also add that modern houses are stronger, equipped with heating and cooling systems, and spacious for larger families. Plus, apartments are very taller, more attractive, earthquake and fire-resistant, and noise-proof. Such features are very important to the security and conformity of present days society. For example, we live in the global warming days in which it is almost impossible to live without the use of heating and cooling technology. Therefore, I argue that although such buildings are important and required to build more, the preservation of the old ones should not be compromised in doing so because our cultures are attached to them. In conclusion, despite the importance and requirements of the new buildings being more than the old ones, I would say that maintenance of the old buildings is even more important and must not be neglected because they offer us cultural and religious values.